Rails Crash Course

A No-Nonsense Guide to Rails Development
by Anthony Lewis

October 2014, 296 pp.
ISBN: 978-1-59327-572-3
Contents | Reviews | Updates

Order now and get early access to the PDF ebook!
(What's that?)
(Which chapters are available now?)

Get 30% off with the coupon code EARLYBIRD

Rails is a robust, flexible development platform that lets you build complex websites quickly. Many major websites run Rails under the hood, and if you know just enough HTML and CSS to be dangerous, Rails Crash Course will teach you to harness Rails for your own projects.

In this book, author Anthony Lewis shows you how to create web applications that are fast, stable, and secure. You’ll start with Ruby basics and get your hands dirty with Rails early on, as you cover the fundamentals through creating a simple blog. By the end, you’ll know how to:

  • Craft persistent models with Active Record
  • Build view templates with Embedded Ruby
  • Use Git to roll back to previous versions of your code base
  • Deploy applications to Heroku for the world to see
  • Maximize performance with the Asset Pipeline and Turbolinks
  • Secure your app against SQL injection and cross-site scripting
  • Set up a server and deploy applications with Capistrano

Each chapter is packed with hands-on examples and exercises that let you test drive your new skills. In the second part of the book, you’ll explore advanced Ruby concepts and build your own Rails-based social networking app, complete with users, posts, comments, and authentication. Even if you’re completely new to Ruby, with Rails Crash Course, you’ll ship your first Rails application in no time.

About the Author

Anthony Lewis has been building websites since 1994. A Senior Engineer at Spredfast (formerly Mass Relevance) and one of the developers behind the Spark social marketing platform, Lewis writes Ruby on Rails and JavaScript code daily. He runs workshops at the Lone Star Ruby Conference, provides in-depth Rails trainings, and is an active member of Austin on Rails.

Table of Contents


Part I: Fundamentals

Chapter 1: Ruby Fundamentals (AVAILABLE NOW)
Chapter 2: Rails Fundamentals (AVAILABLE NOW)
Chapter 3: Models (AVAILABLE NOW)
Chapter 4: Controllers (AVAILABLE NOW)
Chapter 5: Views (AVAILABLE NOW
Chapter 6: Deployment (AVAILABLE NOW)

Part II: Advanced

Chapter 7: Advanced Ruby (AVAILABLE NOW)
Chapter 8: Advanced Active Record (AVAILABLE NOW)
Chapter 9: Authentication (AVAILABLE NOW)
Chapter 10: Testing (AVAILABLE NOW)

Chapter 11: Security
Chapter 12: Performance
Chapter 13: Debugging
Chapter 14: Web APIs
Chapter 15: Custom Deployment